Country Livin’

I must say I was extremely spoiled living not far from Silicon Valley ~ great internet connection and cell towers everywhere.

Up here in the hills it is a bit of a different story.  Satellite internet, which seems to be a rather sensitive beastie and no cell, unless you go way, way up the hill in back.  Not something one wants to do at night as there are large critters in them thar hills.   A black bear has been sighted and we heard the cry of two bobcats on more than one occasion.  I figure if there are two that means babies.  Do not mess with the babies.

Plus, the phone wiring in this old house seems to be in need of some TLC – I’m waiting for someone to come out – again.   I called the Verizon people  to relay my problem and the woman I spoke with kept saying “I can’t hear you”.  “Can you hear me now?” “Not very well”.  “That’s my problem!”

My fax machine almost had a nervous breakdown trying to send 3 pages last night, poor lil thing.

I hadn’t realized how much all this tech stuff had become a part of my life.  I could easily be rid of everything but my computer ~ give up the internet??  Not in this lifetime, I dare say!

I spend my breaks from emptying boxes and sorting our things (so much stuff!) sitting on the porch in one of our Cracker Barrel rocking chairs (of course), watching the fish jump, the mud turtle swim around and the family of Cardinals that seem to love our Willow trees.   The quiet refreshes and the green everywhere is healing after the brown tourist-laden summers of CA.

Now, going into town is a treat, as it happens just once in awhile.  The busy-ness of CA is fading away.  And the negativity.  Having been in CA for so long with people who seem to be pissed about everything, it’s a wonder to be with folks who seem happy and have an appreciation for what they have.  I’ve found that true in many of the mountain communities I’ve lived in.  But what makes this even more special is the love of America most people here seem to have.  They are downright patriotic.  I guess that they didn’t get the memo that patriotism is out of fashion and foolish.  Maybe their internet was being sensitive that day.  Or more likely, they just don’t buy it.

Now, the only flies in the ointment are our two Senators – Senator Warner (R) and Senator Webb (D).

STATEMENT OF SENATORS JOHN WARNER AND CARL LEVIN
ON THEIR TRIP TO IRAQ AND JORDAN

Conclusion:

In many meetings with Iraqi political leaders, of all different backgrounds, we told them of the deep impatience of the American people and the Congress with the lack of political progress, impressed upon them that time has run out in that regard, and told them of the urgent need to make the essential compromises. In all of our meetings we witnessed a great deal of apprehension regarding the capabilities of the current Iraqi government to shed its sectarian biases and act in a unifying manner.

We believe that the recent high-level meetings among Iraqi political leaders could be the last chance for this government to solve the Iraqi political crisis, and should it fail, we believe, the Iraqi Council of Representatives and the Iraqi people need to judge the Government of Iraq’s record and determine what actions should be taken — consistent with the Iraqi Constitution — to form a true unity government to meet those responsibilities.

Another brass ring for the enemy.  All they have to do is wait for the papertiger America to lose it’s patience and retreat.   Watch the children die!


In Oct 2006 Washington Post:

Warner Downbeat After Iraq Trip

Echoing the sentiments of several leading Democrats on his committee, Warner said he believes the United States may have to reevaluate its approach in Iraq if the situation does not improve dramatically over the next several months.

“I assure you, in two or three months, if this thing hasn’t come to fruition and if this level of violence is not under control and this government able to function, I think it’s a responsibility of our government internally to determine: Is there a change of course that we should take?” Warner said. “And I wouldn’t take off the table any option at this time.”

Can we say ‘RINO’??  And he was off to such a good start in his earlier career.

Another interesting article from the Washington Post in Jan. 2007

Vietnam Shades Warner’s Iraq Stand ~ Silent then, Senator won’t be this time

Ah yes, Vietnam – so similar to… well, not Iraq.  Except for the dhimmis’ defeatist part.

Shouldn’t there be a retirement age for our elected officials?  What? Actively seated politicians turn 75 and lose their marbles and start talking like dhimmis?

Found on Sen. Webbs site:

Patriots Who Love the Troops to Death

NYT and complete bashing of the Administration with all the dhimmis’ talking points included with a reference to Nixon.  Vietnam War again, anyone?

So, basically, supporting the troops and their mission is killing our soldiers.  Not “journalism” like this or politicians playing power grabs with our troops lives and emboldening the terrorists.  Oh no.  Not that! *snort*

Oh, we are so in trouble with this Congress…

I really dislike politicians and “journalists” more and more each day.  In conversations with people here, most often I have heard the statement that the politicians need to get out of the war and let the commanders do their job and the media is most often spoken about with contempt.  Hooah!

It appears that I do not live in the dhimmi liberal (but then I repeat myself) part of VA.   Thank god!

August 24, 2007. Iraq, military, Politics, War.

6 Comments

  1. cavmom replied:

    It is becoming very hard to keep my chin up and push on when our leaders in Washington continue to sabotage the work of our troops.

    Do you mind swinging thru DC for me and shaking a few of them?

  2. yankeemom2 replied:

    cavmom – I plan to be in DC on September 15 (if not before too) – to stand with the Eagles and vets For Freedom and Move America Forward. I will pass on your shaking of them – I have a few in mind myself.
    Still think we need an Uppity MilMom March … that woman who will not be named & her minions are not invited! ‘Crazy’ does not constitute ‘Uppity’.

  3. Leta replied:

    Ah…….rocking chairs, jumping fish, temporarily being shut off from “the outside world”. Sounds like a definite slice of heaven to me.

    Hope to see you in DC on the 15th.

    I’m all for the Uppity MilMom March. What’s the date? LOL

  4. cavmom replied:

    I wish I could be there with you. Unforunately that is also my wedding anniversary. I am in charge of all the planning this year and was tempted to plan it in DC.

    However, I really want to be together for a few more years! 😉

    Let me know when the (Uppity)Strategically Sane MilMom March will be held. I will not miss it!

    Anyone check out their local sites for the idiots-march next week?

    action_id=92&id=&search_distance=30&search_zip=77002&submit=Search

  5. yankeemom2 replied:

    Cavmom and Leta – see my post ‘What to do about the media?’ Aug 26

  6. What To Do About The Media « You Betcha I’m a Proud Army Mom replied:

    […] March of Uppity MilMoms on Capital Hill that I’ve been thinking about (see comments here) might be a good thing to have happen in October ~ who’s […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

