A Poem

I know, lately I’ve been just posting about other people’s posts.  The roofers are here and the pounding (3 days now) is making it hard to put one thought next to another.

I’ll tell you though ~ I am thoroughly disgusted with our Congress’s shameful political shenanigans, still.   Every time I think they’ve hit the lowest low, up they pop with a new low.  And I just can’t listen to Harry Reid say how patriotic the Democrats are and how they support the troops ONE MORE TIME!!! Goes for Pelosi, Murtha, Durbin, Obey, Reed, Levin and the rest of them too.  And all those cowering RINOs who are a slap in the face to the men and women who took an oath to defend the Constitution these “elected officials” took an oath to uphold.

Nevermind the antics of the anti-war crowd who also say they support the troops all the while doing everything possible to undermine them and stab them in the back.

Devildog has something to say about this in a poem she wrote:

“Tell me again Momma, what am I fighting for?”

Tell me again Momma
What am I fighting for;
if not for our freedom
from shore to shore!

Is it wrong to help others
fight to be free?
Is “life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness
only for you and me?

Tell me again, Momma,
I really want to know;
Tell me why we’re dying,
and I’ll be set to go!

You see, I always believed in the “Pledge”
we said in school everyday!
I felt proud to tell everyone,
that’s the “American Way!”

But, I’m not sure anymore
why we should all keep trying;
To serve and protect
as I watch my brothers and sisters dying!

Tell me again, Momma,
why we’re all in this place;
When our Congress seems more concerned
with its political race!

Doesn’t “Duty, Honor, and Service”
mean anything anymore?
Aren’t we all fighting for freedom
like thousands of soldiers before?

I know why I fight,
Why I risk my life everyday!
I fight for our freedom
and the American way!

I fight for my country,
the land that I lone;
I fight for the right to pray
to God up above!

Yet, everyday news comes from home’
Protesters line the streets everywhere!
Congress refuses to support us,
The rest of the nation seems not to care!

So, tell me again Momma’
What am I fighting for?
When those we are dying for
spread anti-war sentiments from shore to shore!

Don’t they know they embolden the enemy
and feed into their lies?
While today on the battlefield
another soldier died!

The enemy says it will destroy us
and tear down our mighty nation!
Yet protesters march against us’
and shout in jubilation!

So, tell me again Momma
I really want to know;
Tell me why we’re dying,
And I’ll be set to go!

These protesters say they support us,
but they refuse us what we need;
Where is their support for our war effort’
In all the papers that we read?

The enemy sees their actions
and taunts us every day;
with the news from home and propaganda,
hoping to scare us away!

Tell me again, Momma,
What am I fighting for;
If not for freedom
from shore to shore?

The protesters may support us,
at least that’s what they say;
But, their actions support our enemy,
every single day!

So, let me tell you Momma,
What I’m really fighting for;
I’m fighting so my son and daughter
never have to go to war!

All the protesters in the streets,
Those in Congress who turn a blind eye;
I fight for their children too,
So they won’t have to fight and die!

As long as Americans can stay safe and free,
and pray freely to God up above;
Maybe the children of those who abandon us
will come to share my American love!

So, let me tell you Momma,
What I fighting for!
I’m fighting so their children
won’t have to go to war!

I’m fighting in hope
I’ll live to see the day;
All the protesters and Congress
stop trying to throw our freedom away!

I’m fighting everyday
to serve, protect, and defend;
What the protesters and Congress
try so hard to end.

I’m fighting to save America,
and freedom everywhere;
even though I know it’s true,
there are those who do not care!!

So, let me tell you Momma,
What I’m fighting for;
It’s worth “all” cost, e-v-e-n- w-a-r!!!

written by: devildog6771
Sept. 29, 2007
USMC 1967-1971

Thank you, Devildog ~

October 4, 2007. Tags: , , , , . Anti-Military, Politics, Troop Support.

3 Comments

  1. Flag Gazer replied:

    Outstanding Poem!!!
    Thank you Devil Dog!

  2. impeachbush replied:

    How said that our military has been so brainwashed that even they are spouting the Bush doublespeak about “the enemy” and “the terrorists!” Bush will burn in hell some day for what he has done to our country and to our world! The dirty little secret is that our soldiers are dying for a war that was started not because Saddam Hussein was a threat to America but so that Bush could get a second term in office as a “wartime” president. If THAT wasn’t the ultimate political maneuver by the master political manipulator, Karl Rove, everything else now being said by politicians in Washington, D.C. is nothing by comparison!

    Sorry, devildog, nice poem but you’re blaming the wrong people for your not knowing what you are fighting for!

  3. yankeemom2 replied:

    impeachbush ~ #1/ Our soldiers are not brainwashed and that is a contemptible thing to say about men and women (one who happens to be my daughter) who voluntarily enlisted to serve their country, knowing full well what that meant.
    #2/ I’m also afraid you have bought into the “Rove conspiracies”. I’m interested in knowing where you got your information. You make bold statements ~ what is your proof.
    #3/ Our soldiers know damn well what they are fighting for. Better than you and me sitting here in the comfort of our nice safe homes.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

