How About Writing a Marine?

From jyro at Free Republic:

From: Colonel Simcock, USMC

US Marine Colonel Simcock, the commander of USMC Regimental Combat Team 6 in Iraq, is asking for 6,000 positive emails to his Marines.

That’s one email for each Marine in his RCT command. COL Simcock is concerned about the effect of the negative barrage that those Marines are getting through the electronic media and the Democrat comments on them losing. (Thanks Harry Reid! You and your Democrats really support the troops)

RCT-6lettersfromh@gcemnf-wiraq.usmc.mil

“If you’re reading this email, then you can probably click on the address, type a few words, and then hit “send” to be all done.

It doesn’t have to be the Gettysburg Address. Something as simple as “Hello, Marine. We thank you for what you’re doing.

You are in a noble task. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Best wishes &get home soon” is more than sufficient.

I find that the part I put in bold is the most offensive. Whether you agree with the war or not, to send a “barrage of negative messages through electronic media” to our troops is utterly outrageous. It is not the war that is demoralizing them, it is the negative barrage of messages through electronic media as per their own commander.

Do people NOT understand that our troops, in this day and age of the Internet, are seeing what you are saying…. And so are our enemies?

These morons deliberately ignore that simple basic concept as they are spewing their hatred.

Our troops need to know we appreciate them and all they do for us.

Is it THAT hard to actually give them that support?

For some it seems to be. They should be ashamed of themselves.

EMAIL A MARINE. Tell them how much they mean to us. Take 30 seconds right now and just do it, ok?

Thank you.

**********

The Fightin’ 6th Marines blog
RCT-6 Official Website

Karmah sheik confides in Marines
Story by Pfc. Brian Jones

RCT-6 photos

Col. Richard L. Simcock II, commanding officer, Regimental Combat Team 6, hands a commander’s coin to Marines in a re-enlistment ceremony at Camp Fallujah’s Chapel of Hope July 9. Nearly three dozen Marines swore an oath to uphold and defend the Constitution of the United States of America. Over $1 million was handed out in bonuses.

C’mon! Let them know we don’t all wear pink!

Of course, there are more of us than they know…

October 6, 2007. Tags: , , . Troop Support.

One Comment

  1. Lindy Dare replied:

    Hello Mr. Marine,

    I am a grandmother and I watch the news constantly, I’m addicted to news, I mostly watch O’Reiley and I believe in him and what he is doing, I can’t stand the listen to the Democrats, I’m sorry, I’m registered democrat too but I haven’t voted that way in many years now. I believe in George Bush, I believe in defending our country, I believe that it is unpopular to support Pres Bush now but I also believe he will go down in history for being tuff and honest and straight. I believe its a shame not to support our troops.

    I’m so sorry for what all of our troops have to endure because of this war. War isn’t popular at any time, but its worse when those movie stars are not informed and they speak UN-AMERICAN. I’m proud to be an American, I’m proud to be a grandmother and I’m proud to be your friend, Mr. Marine (Mr. Army, Mr. Navy, Mr. Air Force, Mr. Coastguard).

    I feel very strongly about something else too — namely, not more than a few weeks or a month ago the news kept reporting about the Iranian (military), but they didn’t call them military, they call them a guard — they were not calling them a guard as we here in the US think of the guard. But I emailed Oreiley and said why don’t we call them what they are: which is an ARMY — an Army fighting against the US forces. But the media seems to get everything wrong and I’m ashamed to say that I’m ashamed of our media these days.

    My niece writes a salutation on all her email, “if you can’t stand behind a soldier, stand in front of him,” every time absolutely every time I read it I get a lump in my throat. Thank you for serving the United States of America!!!!!

    On a lighter, note, I have 1 grand son, and 1 grand daughter, they love bing at our home, they love being free.

    Let freedom ring.

    Lindy Dare
    A machine quilter
    I am a quilter (I piece quilts) I have a couple of patriotic quilts on my
    http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2891991710046555032JhdxrF
    if you have time to take a look

    and here
    http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2503333720046555032SHPJzK

    and I have a great nephew serving in Iraq his name is Josh
    you’ll find his photo on these pages too
    http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2492536510046555032nfFYIN

    I have a great niece serving her 2nd tour in Iraq.

    God bless our soldiers
    http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2492536510046555032nfFYIN

    .cc: dare2pt@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

