Little Tin God

Spree at Wake Up, America has a great round up about Ahmadinejad’s visit to New York here and here.


The world is made up for the most part of morons and natural tyrants, sure of themselves, strong in their own opinions, never doubting anything.

~Clarence Darrow

A man wrapped up in himself makes a very small bundle.

~Benjamin Franklin

 

 

(I like his attitude)

 

September 25, 2007. Tags: , . terrorist. Leave a comment.

Hope Renewed ~

Thanks to Sherri, who sent me an email linking me to a post about John Kerry, I have discovered another light in the darkness that shadows my country.

I have just spent the last half hour reading his archives and I feel so much more hopeful to know that I am not mistaken in my belief that the dark times are being brought into the light and found unacceptable.

So for those of you who, like myself, had not discovered this person, let me introduce you to Ronald Winter:

Ronald Winter, a descendant of Scottish Highlanders, (themselves descendants of Viking raiders,) grew up in the farming country of upstate New York. He gave up an academic scholarship at SUNY Albany in 1966 to join the Marines and fight in Vietnam.

Winter served as a helicopter machine gunner, flying 300 missions, and earning numerous decorations, including 15 Air Medals, Combat Aircrew Wings, and the Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry. After Vietnam he returned to his studies earning undergraduate degrees in Electrical Engineering and English Literature.

In a two-decade journalism career that included stints as investigative reporter, supervising editor, and columnist, Winter received several prestigious awards and a Pulitzer nomination. He currently works as a writer specializing in media relations and is a fierce advocate of veterans’ rights. Winter speaks regularly to school and community groups on the history of the Vietnam War.

Please visit Ronald Winter’s interviews at the Library of Congresses online site, “Experiencing War: Stories from the Veterans History Project“.

He spoke at the Gathering of Eagles rally in DC on March 17, 2007.  Here’s the link to his speech:

Gathering of Eagles speech 

 ********

So please grab a cuppa, go to his website, and read his blog. If you’re feeling like me, a bit frustrated these days ~ well, a lot frustrated actually ~ I think you’ll find it’s hard to stop reading his posts. And I believe you’ll come away with a lighter heart and a boost to your faith in the people in this country. Start with this one if you need a good lift this morning.

My husband has a saying that I love:

“There’s more of us out there than you really care to know.”

Thank you, Sherri and Ronald Winter, for being among the ones who do care.

September 25, 2007. Tags: , , , . Good news. Leave a comment.